1541339712_03b4634ed4

I’ll be honest; fitness was not a priority in my life until my metabolism caught up with me in college. Growing up, I was one of those lucky kids that have a fast metabolism and a tall, lean build (thanks mom and dad!) so working out and eating healthy was not a priority to me. Then everything changed. First my metabolism tried to get even with me (despite my best efforts to convince myself that it wouldn’t) and for the past two years, I’ve been lucky enough to be a Boston Celtics Dancer. Needless to say, fitness went from being in the background to being the front and center of my life.

Now, I’m in another state of transition. Sadly, my days as a Celtics Dancer are over, but my love for fitness and leading a healthy lifestyle (yes, I have grown to love it over the past couple years) are not. I’m faced now with trying to keep my motivation to be fit and healthy without the pressure of wearing those costumes on the court in front of tens of thousands of fans! It has taken some adjusting, but I’m realizing that working out because you want to rather than working out because you feel like you should are two completely different things. So now the question is: how am I going to stay motivated and energized about my daily regimen? Stay tuned…

 

Alex McElroy

Question of the Day: How do you stay motivated to workout?

(Image: Flickr, Coyote-37)

