(image credit: flikr, moodeous)

(image credit: flikr, moodeous)

I am a runner.

Until very recently, I would never have uttered those 4 words in that particular order. Even when I hit the 60 minute mark in my training for September’s half marathon, I didn’t dare use that particular descriptor. Describing my pace, I would pander: I jog, it’s a very slow pace, there are people who walk faster– you get the drift, I trust. I was afraid that if I said the word, people would look me up and down and declare in judgment, “you sure don’t look like a runner!”

Today was another milestone for me: I hit 115 minutes of running (for some reason I count my time in minutes, and was really genuinely surprised when I realized that 115 minutes is the same as 1 hour 55 minutes. WHICH IS ALMOST 2 HOURS), my longest time and distance run yet. And it occurred to me as I stretched my tired muscles, that I really am a runner. I am a real runner! The thought just popped into my head. Sure, I still have some more weight to drop (there’s always more work to do), but why do I always associate this activity with a particular body type? Though it may seem obvious to you, dear reader, that a woman who can run for nearly 2 hours is, in fact, a runner, it has taken me months to come to terms with the fact that this is something I’m actually doing. I’ve seen so many kinds of people who run, that I’ve finally figured out that there is no single runner’s body. It’s a matter of confidence, I’m learning.

As I finished my stretching, I felt as if I could conquer the world and that I would absolutely, unfailingly meet my 13.1 mile goal (oh. Is this runners’ high?). For the moment, I’m happy to share with you these simple facts about myself: I am 24 years old and I’ve lost 40 pounds. I’m a runner, and I can do anything.

-Hannah

http://1singlestep.wordpress.com/

Are you a runner? Join the Healthworks Back Bay Run Club on Tuesday nights! Sign up in MindBodyOnline (or just show up!).

How did running change your life? Leave your comments!

