I have a serious crush on Healthworks right now.

Last Thursday I had the opportunity to take part in the Healthworks Blogger Bash, which was amazing! Along with about 20 other women bloggers, I took an awesome (and seriously challenging) spinning class with Eden Kessler, then headed to Alibi at the Liberty Hotel to imbibe some deliciously refreshing RIPE cocktails mixed with Double Cross vodka, and nibble on pizzas from Scampo restaurant. It was great to be around so many inspiring ladies who author health- and food-related blogging websites. A big thanks to Healthworks for organizing! And of course, thank you to all of the sponsors who provided our drinks, food, and pretty awesome swag bags — (pretty awesome being a vast understatement). I’ve been loving all of the new blogs that I added to my Google reader after the event, and enjoying the swag bag goodies.

Among said goodies was some Mad Hectic oatmeal, which was totally new to me. It comes in delicious flavors like raspberry dark chocolate and almond pecan, and provides 13 GRAMS of protein! I am a diligent breakfast eater, and a big fan of easy, filling recipes to whip up in the morning. I mixed about half a serving of Mad Hectic chocolate raspberry with a half a serving of regular plain oats, in order to cut down on the sweetness a bit. It definitely kept me full through my work morning. When I reached my mid-morning snack time, I had the pleasure of sampling a cup of Siggi’s Icelandic skyr yogurt, for which I had a coupon in my swag bag. Siggi’s is amazing – slightly tart, with very little added sweetener (no high fructose corn syrup here!), super thick (even thicker than greek yogurt), packed with protein, and comes in unique flavors like pomegranate acai, and grapefruit. I opted for blueberry today, and added a little granola for what I consider to be a perfect snack. I’m looking forward to adding these new foods to my repertoire, and trying out the rest of my samples and coupons in the next few weeks.

In case there was ever any doubt – Healthworks is truly the best gym ever, and amazes me with the ways that it goes beyond a fitness center, to really be a healthy lifestyle support network for us Boston women.

