I’m writing to you from Paris! The weather is kind of ick – cold and gray – but Paris is a beautiful city. I met up with my sister, D., who impressed me with her French skills. I’ve been to Paris before, so my sister and I decided to take it easy and sort of just walk around and take it all in. We walked everywhere! Yesterday, we walked all along the Champs Elysees, from the big Ferris Wheel at one end to the Arc de Triomphe, which is actually really far! We also walked down Rue Montaigne, and pretended to shop at Dior, Chanel, and Louis Vuitton. It’s funny, those stores all have doormen, so you don’t have to open the door yourself. We felt very proper (and I was wearing my Converse All Stars, I think I fit right in!). After a delicious dinner, we discovered that the Louvre has free hours for students at night, so we went to see the Egypt wing. The Louvre is pretty amazing; I once read that they have more art in storage than on display, which is saying something. Anyways, after the Louvre we walked all the way to the Eiffel Tower. I had no idea how long a walk it would be – we could see the tower off in the distance, so I figured it wouldn’t be that bad! It ended up being quite the work out! When we got there, it was definitely worth it, as a light show started. The whole tower lights up, and is coordinated with music. So pretty!

I should tell you about some of the food I’ve been eating. It’s amazing and so delicious. I love cheese, I can’t help it. D. and I have been finding that we’ve been eating smaller meals, though, because everything is so rich. Well, with the exception of our first night. We had just arrived in Paris, and spent all day roaming about, and were just so hungry. We found this little restaurant, which was packed with people (always a good sign), and ate what my sister would call a “typical French meal,” meaning it took 2 hours and included an entree (er, that’s what they call appetizers here), baguette, main course, wine, and dessert. Oh my goodness, it was amazing. Our appetizer was roasted vegetables with fresh cheese and olive oil. I’m drooling just thinking about it. I think, so far, I’ve done pretty well with eating – oh, except that they sell fresh made crepes on every street corner, and what can I say, I have a weakness for nutella…

It’s been a lovely trip so far! Next, it’s off to Prauge!

-Hannah

