woman-crossing-finish-line

I had to be an athlete. With two older, very athletic, competitive brothers, it was do or die. Naturally I was always on the losing end with them. But it did instill in me an athletic spirit, an appreciation for competition and a love of exercise. Fast forward to my 20’s and 30’s and I still found myself competing. Marathons, 10K races – if it called for placing one foot in front of the other at a fast pace, I was in it. I didn’t need to win these competitions, but I did need to finish, and finish I did, no matter what. I graduated from running to race walking when too many falls dictated that I be kinder and gentler to myself. And here too I race walked competitively both in race walking and running events. The goal was not necessarily to win, but to finish, hence proving to myself I could do it. And you know, after all these years, at the age of 62, I still maintain this same attitude. I have changed my exercise routine. I have added gym workouts and exercise classes at Healthworks, but I still have inside me that competitive spirit, not with others, but with myself. I need to reassure myself that I can do the activity or routine or exercise and that I remain athletic, strong and yes, young, even if a body part sometimes rebels and reminds me that I’m not. I still have to be an athlete. Some people may applaud me for my discipline and fitness regime; others may judge me as an exercise fanatic. Regardless, exercise makes me feel great, and it’s my fountain of youth as I age. So far, so good! Something for you to consider: What is your relationship to exercise? What, if anything, do you want to change in your relationship to exercise? What do you need in order to be successful?

Here’s to being in great shape,

Myrna

Myrna Finn is co-founder of Still Savvy, a web site devoted to stimulating ideas and resources for baby boomer women. Visit www.stillsavvy.com and sign up to receive free weekly themed emails delivered three times a week focusing on insights, expert advice and resources for that theme.

