314848157_07b2bb482a

“Where is your water? Know your garden…Know the river has its destination. ” –Alice Walker

In the journey of making peace with our body, you search for that exercise that takes your mind away from all your worries and makes you focus on you. For me, that exercise is running and the ultimate place is home, Panama. I am writing this blog from Panama. I went home to spend time with my father. I looked forward to waking up early with the sun. I get lost in the sun, the cool breeze and the diversity of the sounding birds. This is the environment that has made me love running. I don’t think about how far I am going and how many calories I have to burn but about the enjoyment of being outside and becoming one with the universe. This is also the community that has shaped how beauty is defined. Not from the outside in, but from the inside out. We celebrate our uniqueness and share it with each other. Although I am alone during my jog, it becomes a community event. On a Saturday morning, I greet my neighbors as they take their morning walks. Women and men, all ages taking a step to improve their health. In thinking about coming back to Boston, I will keep that wonderful scenery in mind. I will also keep that feeling of joy and being present in this space that brings clarity. Where is your space? How do you find it? What will you need to keep your mind clear as you workout at Healthworks? I look forward to our next conversation and leave you with the words of Marcus Aurelius. “You have the power over your mind-not outside events. Realize this, and you will find strength.”

Yvette Modestin

