shapeimage_21

I just got a confirmation email that I was selected from the lottery to run in the Nike Women’s Half Marathon in San Francisco in October.  I entered into the lottery about a month ago not really thinking that the chances were really on my side since so many people entered, but somehow I got in.  It’s something that I’ve always wanted to do so I could just prove to myself that I could get off my lazy butt.  Did I mention that I’ve never run more than 7 miles in my life, and that was when I was really in good running shape.  Currently, I’m not in good running shape at all but I do feel like all I need is a program to follow and it will be possible.  I’m a novice at distance running so I’d like to make sure I’m doing everything correctly and don’t hurt myself before I head out there.  Any advice?  The worst part about it is that the course is very hilly at the end, but the best part about this is I can spend a few days in San Francisco!  I love the west coast, and I love quick getaways.  That’s enough motivation for me to get moving.  There’s no turning back now, I’ve already booked my hotel and plane tickets.  I’m really excited about this and now I have a long term goal, so I’ll have something to work towards after my June wedding so I’ll be far less likely to immediately fall off the fitness wagon when I get back from our honeymoon.

 

Laura Miscowski

