(image: flikr, Logan Carter)

(image: flikr, Logan Carter)

I’m on Week 5 of my half marathon training program, and today I finished my 5th long run and I completed 7.42 miles!  I’m starting to find that sometimes my runs are just mind over matter.  I know that my body is capable of continuing and pushing since I’m getting plenty of miles under my belt, but sometimes I let things get in my way – like how thirsty I am, for example.

This time all I could think about was an ice cold glass of water filled with ice for the last 3 miles of my run.  Of course, I was probably really thirsty because it was hot out and I was running but I certainly wasn’t going to keel over if I didn’t get any.  I just had to try and focus on something else before I really let that thought get the best of me.  I decided to change my route so I could check out some different areas while still getting in my needed distance, and it worked, my pace picked up and I was able to forgot about my thirst.  This doesn’t always work, but it’s worth a shot!

I like to use Go Run Easy to map out my long runs since I do like to change them almost every weekend.  It’s good because I have an exact route in my head before I get outside that reaches my goal for the day, but I also am aware of good detours to take during the run to add in more distance or distract me from things on my mind.  Does anyone have some good tips for a little mind over matter?

Laura M Cho
www.firstclasspanda.com

Help Laura out! How do you take your mind of the running on focus on the goal? Leave your comments!

Need some Help with your running routine? Join the Healthworks Run Club Tuesday Nights at Back Bay!

