(image: flikr, deborah jaffe)

(image: flikr, deborah jaffe)

It is funny how our perspective of age changes as we grow. I recently celebrated a birthday. When I sat down to write in my journal that morning, I spent a lot of time thinking about the fact that I am two years younger than my mother was, when she passed away.

As a child, I thought my mother was old and trying young things. She did aerobics and loved to swim. She was one of the most active mother s in the neighborhood.

Now, because I feel like I have so much to learn and I am still on my journey to find myself and what works best for me, I realized, my mother was very young.

I shared this with a colleague whose birthday is a few days before my birthday. She also reflected on this birthday and realized that she is at the age that her mother gave birth to her. She also realized how much her mother had done and that she is on her journey to learn how to better care for self and what a great responsibility it is to care for someone else.

I then asked one of the members of the circle who is a “vintage Citizen” as she refers to herself, to share her thoughts on age.

From her Bridge, she sees herself as a seeker of knowledge and as she discovers what is going on in the world, it energizes her.

Ms. Sylvia understands that knowledge brings responsibility, and this encourages her to maintain her health at peak performance. She is 75 years old.

The first time she attended the Circle, I was in awe of her presence, strength and beauty. I was holding onto everything she said.

Her most challenging enemy is the “energy stealer” from whom she flees like the wind. It is that moment where your mind is saying you can keep going and your body is telling you something else.

So I reflect on all the points in our journey and realize that we have chosen to move past what is expected of women our age. We are still active and on our journey to remain healthy both mentally and physically.

I am still making peace with the fact that I cannot keep the same level of intensity that I did as a competing athlete but on the morning of my birthday I went to a Bootcamp that Sarah was doing and walked away feeling like that 20 year old, track star, YES I DID!!!!

There are many factors that keep us feeling young at heart. Ms. Sylvia shared that humor is her constant standby, because it works!!! I think rest, good eating and a sound spiritual base develops an internal glow that shines outward.

I look around the gym and see women who keep moving and do not stop for that number to define them. I will continue to do so as my mother did and live each moment to the fullest.

-Yvette

Do you feel younger than your age? How do you do it? Leave your comments!

