(Image Credit: flikr, Edward Dullard)

(Image Credit: flikr, Edward Dullard)

Week 7 Long Run!  Today, thanks to the fantastic weather, I was able to run 8.25 miles – my longest yet.  It’s taken me weeks, but I think that I’ve finally figured out how to run well in the morning on a Sunday.  I need to be awake for a full 30 minutes, stretch really well, and fuel properly.  The first few weeks I was eating a half a protein-type bar, and drinking some water before hurrying out the door.  That wasn’t quite cutting it for me.  I would start to feel very faint towards the end of my runs.  Now I try to eat more.  This morning I had 1 hard boiled egg and half a wheat English muffin with all natural peanut butter, and water.  It might not seem like that much more food, but it was a better combination for me.  When I was done, I had a low fat Greek yogurt.  Also, thanks to my new Fuel Belt I’m able to run and have water when I need it.  It seems like such a minor detail, but it makes a huge difference.  Running should be enjoyable and it’s not when I struggling in the heat without water.  I’m so glad the humidity is gone, I was just dying out there.  The next minor detail that I’m working on is finding the right pair of socks.  I’m starting to get just 1 blister on my right foot, and I only feel it on my long runs towards the very end.  I don’t think that it’s my sneakers so I’m ready to try some new socks.  What is your favorite kind of socks to wear when running outside?  Any suggestions?

-Laura Cho

http://www.firstclasspanda.com/

