Kelli_Raker_headshotHello! My name is Kelli and I have been a Healthworks member for over a year.  Belonging to Healthworks is important to me because the staff and the fellow members are so supportive and continue to motivate me towards my fitness goals.  You might find me on the elliptical or treadmill, in a spinning class, or lifting weights, usually around 7:15 am or 6 pm, depending on my work schedule.  I’m not just an anonymous exerciser at Healthworks, but feel it is a place I belong.  I love how trainers remember my name and I can talk to people in my classes or on the treadmill next to me!

I will be focusing my writings during this blog on the topic of body image, which I feel is an important issue for all women. We are constantly bombarded with images of women’s bodies – from our own in the mirror, to those women in magazines and on tv, and even among the other women and trainers working out at Healthworks! Personally, I have struggled with my weight and body image for as long as I can remember, but I always feel good about myself when I work out!  I think women exercise to make our bodies strong and healthy… and I think many women are also motivated by the positive ways working out can influence the way their body looks and feels.

I plan on writing about my experiences around body image in my personal life, in the media I watch or read, and through my friends and experiences at Healthworks.  I was a women’s studies major as an undergraduate and I often chat with my friends and family about these topics.  Thanks so much for taking the time to read my blog! I would love to hear any questions or comments you have about my posts.  I am headed out the door now to meet a friend of mine at Healthworks, so I will write more soon!

-Kelli

Learn more about Kelli by clicking on the “Meet the Bloggers” Link at the top of this Page!

