hannah_white_blog1picFor most of my life, I would not have considered myself an active person. I’ve struggled with fitness for a long time, and I usually think of myself in terms of my intellect and artistic ability– I was always the kid with the paintbrush, not the basketball — and I really never thought of myself as an actual body. I did participate in a variety of activities when I was younger (activities that I ended up quitting: horseback riding, fencing, rowing, ballet, swimming, soccer), but I never stuck with any regular exercise. The result was a terribly out of shape and overweight adult, somebody continually struggling.

This year, I decided to change all of that, and to let go of my baggage. Most of this started for me in January of last year, when I decided to start running. I downloaded the Couch to 5k podcast and began my training – and I did it! I completed the 9 week training schedule, and on April 20th I ran for a few miles at the end of the Boston Marathon to support a close friend. Later in the year, I found Healthworks (through Groupon – it was a great deal!), and took up spinning classes. The really crazy part was when I decided to run a half marathon, which I finished over Labor Day weekend.

When I first began my fitness overhaul, I was scared out of my mind. I had never done anything like this before, and I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to do it — or that I would give this up, like everything else. My marathon coach gave me some great advice, and told me to bite off goals in manageable chunks in order to avoid feeling overwhelmed. “Just take one step at a time,” she said. And she’s right! Her advice made me think of Lao Tzu’s very famous and very over-quoted encouragement: “A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”

At this point, I have taken a lot of steps to change my life. One step was starting to run, another step was joining Healthworks, joining an intramural soccer team, running my half marathon. In this process, I’ve already lost 50 pounds, and I know that I’m on my journey to a healthier, stronger, more confident me. I also know that I have more work to do, and that my journey isn’t nearly completed. Part of my journey involves thinking about workouts, meals, inspirations, frustrations, and goals. I just have to put one foot in front of the other and keep running on my journey.

-Hannah

Learn more about Hannah and her goals by following the “Meet the Bloggers” link at the top of this page!

