I starting hypothesizing a while ago that the more fit I get, the easier it is for me to sweat while exercising. I had always thought it would be the other way around, that when I was heavier I would have gotten sweatier faster because working out was harder work. It’s funny, though, because now that for several months I’ve regularly done intensive workouts, I’ve noticed that I seem to sweat more and more. Plus, I started sweating in different places, like on my arms. If I really push hard in spinning, even my fingers start dripping – it’s such a funny feeling!

For a few weeks in September, my arms stopped sweating, for some reason, and I was really worried about that. Plus, I kind of like being totally gross when leaving the gym– it makes me feel like I really made an effort and had a great workout. Maybe it’s a little strange that I like being a sweaty mess, but it feels like such an accomplishment! Anyways, I decided to do some research on sweating to figure this whole thing out. This is what I learned:

When you exercise, your muscles generate a lot of heat. According to The Ultimate Handbook, 70% of the heat you generate when working out has to leave the body in order to prevent muscle tissue from “literally cooking.” In order to stay cool, your body produces sweat, and when sweat is evaporated your body cools down and the heat you’ve produced is radiated from your body to cooler surroundings. Simple enough. I’ve read a number of times that the amount you sweat depends on a few things. If it’s hot and humid, you sweat more. If you run faster (or spin faster, or whatever it is you’re doing), you generate more heat and sweat more. Sweating is an indicator of how well your body can regulate its core temperature- the fitter you get, more efficient you become at using your body’s sweating mechanism at a faster rate

So, there you have it. It makes sense that the fitter I get, the more I sweat – gotta cool down!

-Hannah

What exercise makes you sweat the most?

I starting hypothesizing a while ago that the more fit I get, the easier it is for me to sweat while exercising. I had always thought it would be the other way around, that when I was heavier I would have gotten sweatier faster because working out was harder work. It’s funny, though, because now that for several months I’ve regularly done intensive workouts, I’ve noticed that I seem to sweat more and more. Plus, I started sweating in different places, like on my arms. If I really push hard in spinning, even my fingers start dripping – it’s such a funny feeling!

For a few weeks in September, my arms stopped sweating, for some reason, and I was really worried about that. Plus, I kind of like leaving the gym totally gross – it makes me feel like I really made an effort and had a great workout. Maybe it’s a little strange that I like being a sweaty mess, but it feels like such an accomplishment! Anyways, I decided to do some research on sweating to figure this whole thing out. This is what I learned:

When you exercise, your muscles generate a lot of heat. According to The Ultimate Handbook, 70% of the heat you generate when working out has to leave the body in order to prevent muscle tissue from “literally cooking.” In order to stay cool, your body produces sweat, and when sweat is evaporated your body cools down and the heat you’ve produced is radiated from your body to cooler surroundings. Simple enough. I’ve read a number of times that the amount you sweat depends on a few things. If it’s hot and humid, you sweat more. If you run faster (or spin faster, or whatever it is you’re doing), you generate more heat and sweat more. Sweating is an indicator of how well your body can regulate its core temperature- the fitter you get,  more efficient you become at using your body’s sweating mechanism at a  faster rate

So, there you have it. It makes sense that the fitter I get, the more I sweat – gotta cool down!

