clock

Don’t fall back on exercising, now that the clocks have moved back an hour! I find that the first week after daylight savings is the most disconcerting, and sometimes causes me to slip into being lazy with my workout routine. Darkness feels like a cue that the day is over, and no more can be accomplished. If you start adjusting now, it will be easier to keep up with your routine as we approach the winter season. Here are a few suggestions to keep you on track:

  1. Work out in the morning instead of night. At least for now, the morning light is much brighter than it was a week ago. Plus with that “extra” hour of sleep we just gained, waking up earlier than usual probably won’t feel difficult if you start the habit now.
  2. Go straight to the gym. I find that I’m much more likely to work out if I pack my gym bag for work, and stop at Healthworks on my way home. If I go home first, the couch starts looking too comfortable to leave.
  3. Pick a schedule of classes for the week. Healthworks has so many great options for group exercise classes! Try looking at the schedule at the start of the week and marking down the classes that you want to try in your daily planner. Having a schedule for exercise makes it feel like a commitment. Plus the novelty of different classes is sure to give you something to look forward to.

When all else fails, I always imagine how great the eucalyptus steam room is going to feel after a workout!

-Jean

How do you stay motivated?

