DSC02511As I’m typing, I’m over 38,000 feet in the sky (thanks to the wifi on Virgin America flights, that is! So neat!) I’m going to San Francisco for a three-day food festival. Yes…you read it right, a food festival….in San Francisco, only one of the best foodie destinations in the country. Tastings everyday, sit down dinners, and lots of that beautiful California wine.

Here are some tips for staying on track while vacationing in a foodie city:

  • Do lots of walking! Thankfully, San Francisco is a wonderful city to walk and because it’s so gorgeous there’s always something exciting to see, so you never realize just how far you’re going!
  • DSC02495Observe your food options. There are going to be so many vendors, chefs, and food options at this festival I’m attending. I think it’s important, at events like this when food samples are being handed out left and right, to always scope out the scene and see what your options are before you start piling your plate up. Maybe take a lap and think of your top five favorite vendors to stop by first. If you still have some room, go back and try some others.
  • Drink lots of water. It’s so important to stay hydrated always, but especially when traveling and also when there’s lots of food present. You don’t want to mistake your thirst for hunger. Whenever I think I’m really hungry I drink a glass of water. Nine times out of ten my hunger subsides and I’m not nearly as hungry as I thought I was. This comes in handy at foodie events because you can eat quality portions.
  • Find a flight of stairs. No matter where you are, you can always find a decent flight of stairs. RUN or briskly walk up and down them to burn some calories and sweat a little. Every bit of movement helps so even if it’s 10 minutes of stairs, it’s better than nothing.
  • Most importantly, have fun and take in all of your surroundings. It’s so important when you’re traveling to take in every bit the city you’re in has to offer. Often times that means enjoying the local cuisine the city is known for. It’s not everyday we get to enjoy fantastic foods and culture so be open minded, try lots of new things, have fun and be smart!

-Chels

What are some of your favorite “foodie” cities?

