There is a famous quote by Carl Rogers that say “The curious paradox is that when I accept myself just as I am, then I can change.” Despite the paradox, I find this quote to be particularly true for me when it comes to my healthy (or not so healthy) decision making. I was recently reading an article that said that overweight people tend to under-report how many calories they consume every day, and there are many doctors and nutritionists who study “dieters” and say that those people who right down what they eat and exercise are more successful with their weight loss and maintenance. These two ideas seem to me to go directly together. Being able to be honest with myself about how much I am eating or exercising is one way I accept myself just as I am, and then I am able to make better decisions for myself especially. where I do not consume more calories than I realize.

Its hard to make a change if you are not willing to admit to yourself that you NEED to make the change in the first place – and this idea applies to most areas of life. Its much easier to avoid something I don’t want to deal with, and to complain about nothing changing, than to face up to it and figure out a plan to change. Even though it may involve failing or major set backs, it is just as uncomfortable to walk around in denial as it is to face up to the truth and seek change. What are you unwilling to accept about yourself? What change will be easier if you do accept yourself just the way you are?

-Kelli

Accepting yourself as an impetus to change

There is a famous quote by Carl Rogers that say “The curious paradox is that when I accept myself just as I am, then I can change.”   Despite the paradox, I find this quote to be particularly true for me when it comes to my healthy (or not so healthy) decision making.  I was recently reading an article that said that overweight people tend to underreport how many calories they consume every day, and there are many doctors and nutritionists who study “dieters” and say that those people who right down what they eat and exercise are more successful with their weight loss and maintenance.  These two ideas seem to me to go directly together.  Being able to be honest with myself about how much I am eating or exercising is one way I accept myself just as I am, and then I am able to make better decisions for myself especially. where I do not consume more calories than I realize.

Its hard to make a change if you are not willing to admit to yourself that you NEED to make the change in the first place – and this idea applies to most areas of life.  Its much easier to avoid something I don’t want to deal with, and to complain about nothing changing, than to face up to it and figure out a plan to change.  Even though it may involve failing or major set backs, it is just as uncomfortable to walk around in denial as it is to face up to the truth and seek change.  What are you unwilling to accept about yourself? What change will be easier if you do accept yourself just the way you are?

