By now we all know the benefits of eating breakfast in the morning – it helps keep metabolisms running and weight off. morning-glory-muffinsMy problem has never been with eating breakfast – I’m a morning person and like to take my time getting ready in the morning. I do have a problem with getting to work on time, though, and I realized that having ready-made breakfasts that I don’t have to prepare would cut out a few extra minutes every morning. Now I’ll be working on finding easy recipes to make ahead of time. This week I tried these vegan whole-wheat raisin-carrot-apple muffins, adapted from The Whole Life Nutrition Cookbook. I’m not a vegan, but replacing eggs with applesauce in this recipe helps to cut out calories and add a little natural sweetness. They turned out delicious! And unlike the huge sugary muffins you’ll normally find at bakeries or convenience stores, this recipe is full of fiber and fruits, with very little added sugar. It could definitely be improvised on to suit your taste, and what you have on hand, as well.

 

3 Cups Whole Wheat Flour

2 apples, chopped

2 carrots, grated

1 cup raisins, soaked in 1/4 cup water for 10 minutes

2 tsp. Baking powder

1 tsp. Baking soda

2 tsp. Cinnamon (I also added a dash of allspice)

2 cups applesauce

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1/4 cup sugar

2 tsp. Vanilla

(I also added a handful of chopped pecans)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees, coat muffin tin with cooking spray.

In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking soda and powder, cinnamon.

In a small bowl, combine applesauce, oil, vanilla, raisins, carrots, and apples. Pour wet ingredients into the dry and gently mix together.

Spoon batter into muffin tins, bake for 25 to 30 minutes.

 

These muffins were delicious right out of the oven, and have been acting as a great breakfast the rest of this week – try toasting and spreading with almond butter for extra protein.

-Jean

What do you like to make for a breakfast on the go?

