This may seem a bit obvious, but feeling sick has made me think about my health. I’ve been pretty focused on the exercise (and weight) element of my health for the past several months. I’ve been very good about setting goals for myself, and pretty good at reaching my goals (for the most part). I have to admit that I’ve neglected some key elements of health apart from that, though. I’ve been running around like a crazy person for a long time, and I think that my bad habits are starting to have a negative impact.

I definitely don’t sleep enough. I try to go to bed at a reasonable time, but sometimes I have so much extra work to do that there’s just no way that I can get everything done and get the 7-8 hours of sleep that I know I need. I also haven’t been eating all that well – sometimes, it’s just so much easier to order take out than it is to thoughtfully prepare a meal with lots of veggies. Living with my roommate has been pretty helpful, and when we actually go grocery shopping together I think that I eat better. This past week, though, was not so good in terms of eating healthful meals. I also have a lot of stressors in my life – whoever said that students have it easy is totally wrong! What with an internship, class, homework, and all the other things I do, I feel very pressed for time. I am definitely under a lot of pressure.

I really need to turn my focus to all-around health. Being healthy isn’t just about how many times a week I go to the gym, but is rather about maintaining an entire lifestyle.

-Hannah

What do you do for stress relief?

