One of my favorite snacks to create at home is granola. First, I love how it’s so simple to make and second, I love that you can add in basically anything you’re in the mood for. I started doing it this summer when I found a recipe for Cherry Vanilla Granola on norecipes.com

 

The recipe calls for:

  • 2 1/2 cups rolled oats (not quick cool oats)
  • 1/2 cup wheat germ
  • 1/2 cup almonds (which I opt not to use since I’m allergic)
  • 1/2 cup coconut flakes
  • 2 tablespoons butter (or canola oil if you want to make a healthier version)
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup chopped dried cherries

Heat oven to 275 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper

 

In a large bowl mix oats, wheat germ, almonds (if you’re using) and coconutDSC04733

  • Microwave butter and brown sugar until the butter has melted. Add the maple syrup and vanilla and stir, making sure everything is mixed together well. Pour this into the dry ingredients and mix until well combined and the granola starts to clump together.
  • Spread mixture evenly over parchment paper lined baking sheet and bake for 30 minutes.
  • Open oven, stir granola, making sure to break up any large clumps of granola, and then evenly distribute cherries on baking sheet.DSC04739
  • Return to the oven for another 15 minutes or until the granola is nice and golden brown.

You can easily add in other dried fruits such as blueberries, apricots or strawberries, to create your own version. The dried fruit definitely adds a nice texture and stickiness to the granola, which is why I like using it. I love grabbing handfuls of the granola when I’m on the go, need a quick snack, and I even like putting some in a bowl with milk and eating it for breakfast as cereal. The best DSC04741part is, you know exactly what’s going into it unlike a lot of store-bought brands.

-Chels

What are some of your favorite grab-and-go snacks to make at home?

 

 

Create Your Own Granola

One of my favorite snacks to create at home is granola. First, I love how it’s so simple to make and second, I love that you can add in basically anything you’re in the mood for. I started doing it this summer when I found a recipe for Cherry Vanilla Granola on norecipes.com

The recipe calls for

2 1/2 cups rolled oats (not quick cool oats)

1/2 cup wheat germ

1/2 cup almonds (which I opt not to use since I’m allergic)

1/2 cup coconut flakes

2 tablespoons butter (or canola oil if you want to make a healthier version)

2 tablespoons brown sugar

1/4 cup maple syrup

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup chopped dried cherries

Heat over to 275 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper

In a large bowl mix oats, wheat germ, almonds if you’re using and coconut

• Microwave butter and brown sugar until the butter has melted. Add the maple syrup and vanilla and stir, making sure everything is mixed together well. Pour this into the dry ingredients and mix until well combined and the granola starts to clump together. (insert dsc04733.jpg)

• Spread mixture evenly over parchment paper lined baking sheet and bake for 30 minutes.

• Open oven, stir granola, making sure to break up any large clumps of granola, and then evenly distribute cherries on baking sheet.

• Return to the oven for another 15 minutes or until the granola is nice and golden brown. (insert dsc04739.jpg)

You can easily add in other dried fruits such as blueberries, apricots or strawberries, to create your own version. The dried fruit definitely adds a nice texture and stickiness to the granola, which is why I like using it. I love grabbing handfuls of the granola when I’m on the go, need a quick snack, and I even like putting some in a bowl with milk and eating it for breakfast as cereal. The best part is, you know exactly what’s going into it unlike a lot of store-bought brands. (insert dsc04741.jpg)

What are some of your favorite grab-and-go snacks to make at home?

