One thing I absolutely swear by during the cold winter months to fight dry skin is body scrubs. For some reason, I always spent an arm and a leg on expensive scrubs that did the job really well, but once they were gone I’d always wonder “Was it really worth that much money?” This summer I read an article about making your own scrubs. I started experimenting and came up with a couple of really great options that I’ve stuck with.

They’re both very basic, but do a wonderful job and after I’m all showered, my skin feels just as good as it did with the expensive scrubs.

One is a sea salt scrub and the other is a sugar scrub. For the sugar scrub, I typically start with 2 tablespoons of olive oil and 2 tablespoons of sugar. I like to use the sugar scrub on more delicate areas, my face, hands, and feet since it’s a gentler texture. For the sea salt scrub I normally start with about 2 tablespoons of oil and 3 or 4 tablespoons of salt. The sea salt scrubs are great to use on the rest of the body since the grains are a little larger and exfoliate larger regions at the same time. While the salts and sugars work wonderfully to exfoliate, the olive oil does a beautiful job replenishing moisture into dry skin, leaving it incredibly soft and smooth.

I also add in a couple of squirts of fresh lemon juice just to add a hint of scent to it. You can also go to any natural food store, such as Whole Foods, and pick up some scented oils to add in if you want it to be more fragrant. The possibilities are really endless so feel free to experiment!

-Chels

What are some of your favorite tips and tricks to fight dry winter skin? Do you ever make any homemade beauty products?

