Last week I took advantage of my introductory personal training sessions, and met with Jakki L, who was amazing. I hadn’t been interested in personal training before, but she helped point out that my normal fitness routine was lacking in strength training, and walked me through a great routine. Free weights, push ups, bosu exercises…I’m totally sore and also in love with the workout that she gave me – it makes me feel like I’m really utilizing all of the equipment Healthworks offers, and getting the most out of the time that I spend there. Whereas before I would hop on the treadmill for a half hour, do some stretching, and a few abs exercises, and then get out – now I’m spending two days a week running on the treadmill for 20 minutes, and following it up with a full body workout. I feel like I’m emphasizing quality over quantity of time that I spend at the gym, and I think it’s starting to show. On top of this, I have a renewed appreciation for the fact that this is a women’s only gym. I feel like I would be way too intimidated to “pump iron” in the presence of dudes, who typically tend to rule the weights area at other gyms. I was excited to find out that there are half-hour personal training sessions available, which I will be signing up for…these sessions are within my price range, and perfect for fitting a maximized workout into a maximized schedule.

-Jean

Do you use a trainer?

