Smart Bell

I actually followed through today and went to a Smartbells class. And even though I coughed a lot, it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. In fact, I had a great workout! It feels SO GOOD to be back at the gym after three ridiculous weeks of feeling sick. As much as it can be kind of fun to be lazy for a little while, after too long a time it doesn’t feel so satisfying. I think it didn’t help that I hadn’t been eating very well. It’s a little hard to manage stress during school finals in terms of time, and so I have ended up eating out a lot for convenience. And then there was Thanksgiving, in all its deliciousness, which made me feel even more sloth-y.

For those of you who don’t know what a Smartbell is: A Smartbell is a flat weight with handles. You hold the handles in both hands, and use the weight at the same time as lower body exercises like squats and lunges (and don’t forget knee lifts or curls). All the descriptions I’ve read say something like, “Smartbells offer a unique way to incorporate dynamic, whole-body exercises into your routine.” It’s true – it’s definitely whole body.

There are a lot of reasons I love Smartbells (it’s not dumb bells… my friend always makes that joke). I love that it’s modifiable, so when I haven’t been working out for a while, I can make any of the movements fit my level at the moment. Today, because of the coughing situation, I didn’t feel like I could sustain some of the more intensely cardio sections, so I did something else (squats. SO MANY SQUATS). I also love Smartbells because it’s hard work, but also fun. I always leave the studio thinking, “that went by fast!” and I still feel sore (in a good way) the next day. Also, I really love that feeling that happens after a workout, when your leg muscles make you feel like you’re walking on air and you step a little higher than usual.

I think all I wanted to say is that I love working out. I love working out! And I’m glad to be back in action.

-Hannah

