I hope you all had a great Thanksgiving holiday! I thoroughly enjoyed being home with my family, indulging in several savory dishes (butternut squash risotto, mashed potatoes, stuffing…) and sweet desserts (pumpkin pie, chocolate-walnut-caramel tart, homemade whipped cream…), relaxing by the fireplace, and generally being reminded of all that I have in my life to be thankful for. I got back to Boston on Sunday and ended up cooking a big batch of minestrone soup as part of the chores that I needed to do to get back on track and ready for the week. I was drawn to the idea of a colorful vegetable soup, feeling like I needed to detox from the long weekend’s aforementioned overindulgences with lots of fresh vegetables (and probably extra time at the gym). If you’re feeling the same way, try this simple soup recipe and enjoy all week, or freeze some and save for your next “recovery” period after the winter holidays.

Minestrone Soup

  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 2 zucchini, diced
  • ½ lb green beans, trimmed and halved
  • 3 carrots, sliced
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 can kidney beans
  • 1 can chickpeas/garbanzo beans
  • 1 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 6 cups chicken broth
  • 1 tsp each of dried basil, oregano, rosemary, and thyme
  • 2 cups cooked whole wheat mini pasta shells (optional)

Heat olive oil in a large stockpot. Add onions and dried herbs, sauté for 5 minutes, until soft. Add carrots, cook another 2 minutes. Add broth and canned tomatoes, cover and simmer for 5 minutes. Add kidney beans, chickpeas, green beans, and zucchini, cover and simmer for about 7 minutes, until vegetables are tender. Stir in cooked pasta shells.

-Jean

What is your favorite “1-pot” meal?

