I still haven’t been able to get rid of this cough – and I still haven’t made it to the gym. Enough is enough, I say! Tomorrow is the big day. I don’t care if I cough all over the place; I’m not contagious anymore, and I’m going to the gym! I’ve really missed smartbells and spinning, and with finals period upon me I think working out will be a great stress reliever.

In other news, I have officially decided on which race I want to run. Drumroll please: DISNEY PRINCESS! I am so excited about this, especially since some of my teammates from September’s half marathon are up for the challenge, too! I loved the intensity of training and the singleminded focus of a goal with a deadline attached. I really can’t wait to start my training and just go for it. I have a few ideas about this race. Last time, I did a walk/run combo in order to get to the finish line. It was really hard, but I think that going forward I’m going to practice running long distances without regular walking breaks. I’ve done a number of 5ks this year, and I think that is a pretty solid base to start from. Though we haven’t planned the schedule yet, I think that I’ll start with a 30 minute run (which I can already do), and add 15 minutes each week. I’m also going to be really careful about measuring distances. Last time (I think I’ve written about this before), I totally overestimated how far I had practiced. A little precision will help me really prepare for race day.

Last race, blogging really helped me settle my nerves. I wrote about training and drills, equipment, hydration – everything a runner has to think about in preparation for a long run. Although I’ve tackled some of these issues before, I’m expecting a whole new set of challenges to arise as I become a more experienced runner. Look out for training updates for the next few months!

-Hannah

How do you train for long distance runs?

Reuniting the Team

I still haven’t been able to get rid of this cough – and I still haven’t made it to the gym. Enough is enough, I say! Tomorrow is the big day. I don’t care if I cough all over the place; I’m not contagious anymore, and I’m going to the gym! I’ve really missed smartbells and spinning, and with finals period upon me I think working out will be a great stress reliever.

In other news, I have officially decided on which race I want to run. Drumroll please: DISNEY PRINCESS! I am so excited about this, especially since some of my teammates from September’s half marathon are up for the challenge, too! I loved the intensity of training and the singleminded focus of a goal with a deadline attached. I really can’t wait to start my training and just go for it. I have a few ideas about this race. Last time, I did a walk/run combo in order to get to the finish line. It was really hard, but I think that going forward I’m going to practice running long distances without regular walking breaks. I’ve done a number of 5ks this year, and I think that is a pretty solid base to start from. Though we haven’t planned the schedule yet, I think that I’ll start with a 30 minute run (which I can already do), and add 15 minutes each week. I’m also going to be really careful about measuring distances. Last time (I think I’ve written about this before), I totally overestimated how far I had practiced. A little precision will help me really prepare for race day.

Last race, blogging really helped me settle my nerves. I wrote about training and drills, equipment, hydration – everything a runner has to think about in preparation for a long run. Although I’ve tackled some of these issues before, I’m expecting a whole new set of challenges to arise as I become a more experienced runner. Look out for training updates for the next few months!

