This past Thursday was such a perfectly beautiful day. It was kind of absurd, really, that in December it would be in the 50s or 60s outside! Anyways, the second I left my apartment I knew that I would have to be outside – it was too nice not to be! It feels so good to breathe in fresh air, and it’s great for people watching.

Yesterday, I think I must have walked about 3 or 4 miles – granted, it wasn’t all in one go. Still, though yesterday’s weather made me miss the summer. I ran outside all summer long, and it was really amazing. The thing about running outside is that it is so much more interesting than running on a treadmill. When I’m on a treadmill, I have to think of ways to keep myself entertained. I listen to music or try to watch tv, or I tell myself stories. Anything to make the time go faster! I just find it so painfully boring. But outside is a whole other story! I don’t even wear headphones when I run outside. There’s so much to look at and listen to, in the city or in a more rural area. There are plants and nature, people, animals, sky – everything becomes interesting. I like running outside because I can establish a natural rhythm to my step. The good thing about treadmills, though, is that you HAVE to stick to the pace you set, or else you fall off. I guess there tradeoffs.

-Hannah

What’s your preference? Do you have any tricks that make the treadmill less run of the… mill ?

