One thing that I do not understand about fashion is this whole leggings trend. Did you know that Lindsay Lohan has her own line of “designer” leggings? Every time I see somebody walking down the street wearing leggings, I can’t help but think to myself, “THOSE ARE NOT PANTS!”

When my cold weather training started, I was told that I would have to wear leggings – which in running terminology are known as tights. Runners wear tights in cold months because baggy pants let in some of the cold air, and the pant itself might interfere with your running. For last week’s run, I had borrowed a friend’s pair of tights… and I’m a little surprised to admit that I really liked them. In fact, I didn’t feel pantsless at all. I felt warm! Anyways, my friend wants her tights back. Today I stopped at City Sports on my way home from work. I decided to take a big step and actually purchase my own pair of tights. I searched the store for the pair that seemed right for me – and I found them! They’re fleece lined. I ended up making a few other purchases, including a really nice windbreaker. I’ve said this before, and I’ll say it again: running is an expensive habit.

I was so excited about all my new gear (my friend from high school had given me a great long sleeved wick-away top at our annual holiday present exchange), that I had to try on my new ensemble as soon as I got home. And once it was all on, well, I had to go for a run. Molly and I headed out the door (that’s my dog). As I started running, I realized that I was wearing an entirely black outfit, and that it was really dark outside. Oops.

In the end, my run was great. I ran for about 33 minutes or so, and had a pretty intense sprint at the finish. The tights kept me cozy and warm – though, you’ll NEVER see me wearing tights for a non-running occasion!

-Hannah

What do you wear for cold weather running?

Healthworks members check out the Plums n Roses discount page for details on discounts at City Sports, South End Athletic Company, and Marathon Sports!

