The past few mornings I’ve been enjoying a healthy green smoothie as a mid-morning snack. It’s the first time I’ve tried incorporating greens into a smoothie, and my first venture turned out really well! By combining fruits with greens like spinach and kale, I’m getting a healthy liquid dose of fresh produce and vitamins. Normally I snack before lunch, but when I bring this concoction to work and sip throughout the morning, I’ve found that I’m not hungry before lunchtime – another bonus! Some of you might be skeptical when you take a look at this bright green smoothie, but I hope you’ll at least give it a chance. My boyfriend cringed when he saw me approaching with a frothy green glass, but had to admit that it was “actually pretty good” after taking a sip. This is my “mojito” recipe, named after the combination of citrus and mint, which gives it a nice refreshing flavor. Feel free to play around with this recipe, and come up with your own fruity substitutions.

Jean's Green Smoothie

Mojito Green Smoothie (makes about 2 servings)

 1 apple, cut into chunks

1 pear, cut into chunks

1 sliced banana

1-2 glasses of water

Juice from 1 lemon

Large leaf of kale, de-stemmed, broken into small pieces

1 handful of baby spinach leaves

3-4 tbsp chopped mint

Combing the apple, pear, banana, water, and lemon juice in a blender; blend until smooth. Add the small pieces of kale, baby spinach, and mint. Blend until smooth – the drink will be a bright green color when it’s done!

What’s your favorite healthy smoothie recipe?

– Jean

