Did this weekend’s wintry mix get you a little down? 

Though I had Monday off from work, meaning I could have shut myself in my apartment, I did feel obligated to get myself out of the house and into the cold, to run errands, visit the gym and explore my neighborhood. After a nice lunch from Anna’s Taqueria, a visit with my friend, Enid and a walk through Harvard Square, I headed up the Red Line to Healthworks for a BURN session.  Throughout the entire class, I had my sights set on two things.  One, being getting through the class – it’s been awhile.  And the second being the always relaxing Healthworks Eucalyptus Steam Room.

If you haven’t made time to enjoy it or if you have felt a little shy about shedding your towel, now is the perfect time (hello people, it’s the dead of winter!) to warm up in the steam room. Here are a few tips to make the most out of this relaxing, post-work out option:

First, make sure to stop and rinse off post-workout/pre-steam room – let’s be sanitary, please! 

Next, make sure to have a towel to sit on in the room – again it’s all about the cleanliness.  Bring an extra towel if you want more privacy.

 Once you enter the room, make yourself comfortable.  If the space permits, feel free to lie down and relax.  When I get in there, I like to focus on my breath and breathe deeply.  Steam rooms can relieve respiratory conditions such as sinusitis and bronchitis.  Either way, relax and enjoy.

Now that you’ve relaxed, be sure to limit your time in the steam room (I like to stay in for 5-10 minutes) as you lose fluid and of course, remember to stay hydrated by drinking a lot of fluids – water is my go-to.

– Kate

Have you visited the steam room lately?  What’s your favorite way to decompress after a workout?

