I hurt my back!  My hips are really tight and I must have stretched something too suddenly on the thigh machine because a few days ago, I woke up and my back was really stiff when I tried to stand up.  I could walk, but sitting hurt and getting up was really painful.

On the first day, I went to HW and had a massage. Now, I’ve never liked massages. I have always found them painful, but Madelon was wonderful. The only place that hurt was where I had hurt my hip. I am sure that almost three months of exercise also made a difference. My muscles just aren’t as tight as they were.  My back still hurt after the massage, but the rest of me felt great.

Massage at Healthworks

On the second day, I spent the day in bed. Big mistake! Hours of sleeping to endless Law and Order reruns was no good for my back and terrible for my psyche. For the first time, I seriously considered breaking my diet. I was desperate for a pizza from Pizza Regina. I called my daughter to confess because I knew she would dissuade me and she did. Instead, I made myself a “legal” treat of a steak rollup with sautéed peppers and onions. It tasted great and was really satisfying. On the third day, I went to HW and did 30 minutes on the elliptical. The more I moved, the better my back felt. It still twinged when I stood up, but not nearly as badly.

Today, Bonnie made me do the foam roller on the floor. Now lowering and raising 227 pounds is no joke. And, for those of you who have not experienced it, the foam roller is a b**ch! I whined a lot, but Bonnie refused to listen to my entreaties. In the end, I did it. And you know what? My back feels almost normal now.

Once again moving is the answer.

– Cheryl

Do you have a favorite exercise that helps soothe your aches and pains?

