I am a goal-setter, but I have never been particularly good at working toward them for very long. In the past, when I began a weight-loss program, I set goals about the amount of weight would lose and how quickly I would lose it. At first, this worked okay, but after a while the scale would stop cooperating and I would get discouraged. This time, however, I decided to set goals based on the two facets of the program that were under my control—how much and what I ate and how much I moved.

For example, I have a lot of physical activity goals. When I started exercising, I really wanted to take classes but was afraid I wouldn’t be able to keep up.  I didn’t want to feel embarrassed if I couldn’t keep moving (and frankly was unsure about how I would feel with a constant view of myself in the mirror.) So, I decided to make classes a future goal.

For me, another aspect of achieving goals is anticipating them, so I thought it would be good if I chose a particular class as my first goal. Since I often found myself in the lobby looking on jealously at the Zumba class, (dancing is the only type of movement that I have ever looked forward to doing) I set myself a goal of taking a Zumba class for my 61st birthday.  As further encouragement, my trainer, Bonnie, agreed to go with me. That goal is now just two weeks away. I’m much fitter than I was when I started though I am still unsure if I can keep more for 60 minutes and we might just do the express class. I’ll be sure to post about my experience.

I find these kinds of goals useful.  At New Year’s I wrote a plan for the year incorporating lots of physical activity goals. For example, in April I am supposed to be buying a bicycle and trying a spin class (that will have to be express!) In July, I plan/hope to incorporate Gravity (We’ll see.) I have started anticipating my bicycle goal. I’m a bit scared because I haven’t been on a bike in 15 years. I don’t want to waste my money on a bike I won’t use, so I plan to rent a bike first in order to make sure I can still balance. 

 – Cheryl

What helps you achieve your fitness goals?

