I’ve been so lax about writing here.  I’ve recently been subbing for a class full-time and I have been very busy.  Also working all day long teaching, running around and trying to keep on top of all the work has left me exhausted.  I’ve been managing to get to spinning a few times per week but still I know it isn’t’ enough.  I know that working out more will help manage the stress and keep me energized but by the time I get home at 3 pm I’m beat.  When 6 rolls around, the last thing I want to do is change and go to the gym.  In fact there are some evenings when I’ve been in bed by 5 or 6 pm, I’ve been so worn out!   How do you manage work/workout stress and planning and finding ways to fit it in? 

I’ve also been doing some reading and research about healthy eating as of late, and I cannot believe how expensive it is to eat well.  When the time comes to do groceries on my tight budget, I’m lucky if I have ten dollars a week to cover food for the week.  Having lots of food allergies doesn’t help; and I am limited in certain things I can eat and buy (I have nut, soy, and pea allergies) which make it hard to follow healthy eating plans outlined in women’s health magazines like Self and Shape, as well as diet plans like South Beach.  Not being able to have nuts or soy makes it hard.  I also face a challenge when it comes to protein as I do not eat red meat or pork.  The added challenge is financial and needing to make each dollar count. 

– Cindy

How do you manage healthy eating on a strict budget?  Do you also face food allergies or limitations in your life?

