I had a pretty tough weekend. I promise I won’t go into detail here – suffice it to say that two very emotional things happened. Added to all the stresses of school and work, I can honestly say that I did not react well.

The old me would want to sit around and eat ice cream and watch tv. And to tell you the truth, I still partly want to do that. What’s interesting, though, is my next reaction, which is to just move my body and sweat it out. Following one day of Chinese food consumption, I found myself really wanting to get up and go. I sang really loudly and danced in the car as much as I could (this involves a lot of snapping and leg slapping) on the way to work, which didn’t give me the satisfaction I was looking for. And then, this afternoon the sky was blue and the sun was out.

And I ran.

It felt so good to be outside. It felt even better to be working out, relieving some of my frustrations by pounding them into the cement. Each step I took, I felt like yelling “HA!”

Sometimes, it feels really good to feel sad, if you know what I mean. Other times, though, it feels so much better to do something positive, to take care of my body and get some of my stress out. Today was a better day – and it certainly helps that the rain has stopped!

– Hannah

