This is the second week in a row that I have had family in town visiting so I’ve been very busy showing them (my cousin, Will and his girlfriend, Kellie) around Boston.  We have had a lot of fun celebrating Spring and St. Patrick’s Day but it hasn’t left much time to get workouts in.

I remedied this yesterday by taking advantage of the beautiful weather we are currently having in the Boston area.  I woke up in the morning and decided to take my running shoes (shorts, shirt, socks and underwear, too!)  in to work with me.   My office is located between Faneuil Hall and the Financial District and I often see coworkers coming in from the gym or a run,  so I thought, “Why not me, too?”

I get an hour for lunch so I quickly changed and then hit the streets.   I started down State Street and then followed the Rose Kennedy Greenway toward the Fort Point Channel.  The Greenway is beautiful with loads of outdoor sculptures and plenty of seats for relaxing and enjoying the sunshine (I highly recommend!).  It seemed everyone, from businessmen to tourist groups, was outside.

As I continued on, I turned left onto the Seaport Boulevard and ran all the way down to the end of the port,  seeing the places that remind me of better weather days – Fan Pier, the Barking Crab and the Bank of America Pavilion.   Summer seems so close!

Once I reached the Pavilion, I decided it was time to turn back because I still needed time to stretch and shower.  The run back seemed to go by more quickly but this may have been due to the fact that I wasn’t ready to go inside and the beautiful Boston skyline was also a great distraction.  Running into the shade of the skyscrapers,  I headed to Post Office Square to cool down and stretch with time to spare.

It felt so good to get this workout in during the workday.  The sunshine and a solid half hour run energized me and I felt a sense of accomplishment.  With the forecast looking good for the weekend as well,  hopefully I will turn this one-time experience into a habit.

What do you look forward to doing on a warm weather day?

– Kate

