I’ll start off my saying that I am ok – just a little hurt (in the ego department, as well as my foot…).

Saturday morning I was walking my dog. I was kind of in a rush, because I thought I was going to be late for a lunch. I was crossing the street near my house, just starting out on my normal route, and I didn’t look very carefully – and my feet got run over by a car. Yes, you heard me right. I got run over.

I was in such shock that I didn’t know what to do. The car didn’t stop, and I kind of just looked at my feet in bewilderment. Did that just happen? I walked home, and it wasn’t until I took off my shoes and sat down on my bed that I realized what happened and started crying. That was really scary! I called my roommate, who rushed home. As soon as she looked at me, she said “we’re going to the hospital!” And don’t worry, nothing happened to the dog!

I had some x-rays, and nothing is broken. The doctor told me that, apparently, most people he sees with run-over-feet don’t actually break anything. It just hurts! I have an abrasion and some bruising, but overall I think I’m pretty lucky. They gave me some painkillers and told me what to watch out for (something called compartment swelling, sounds scary!), and sent me home.

I do feel kind of like an idiot – but, as my sister says, I think we all make not getting hit by a car our general priorities, and accidents happen. So, there we go. I’m letting my feet rest before I head back to exercise (it kind of hurts to put closed shoes on). See you all at the gym soon, I hope!

– Hannah

