As you may recall, back in January I wrote a post about resolutions, suggesting making small incremental changes in your life, instead of going for one big drastic goal. I’m a firm believer in the power of these small changes, and I also support making resolutions year-round. No need to wait once a year to make a difference –after all, today is the first day of the rest of your life, right? Recently, I added a small change to my daily schedule in the form of a twenty minute morning run. As it so happens, twenty minutes has turned out to be my magic number. It’s long enough to break a sweat and burn some calories, leaving me feeling refreshed, but not drained. As a result, I’ve had more energy at the office, and through some bizarre logic, has me getting to work on time!! This is the most surprising part for me, a chronic running-out-the-door-chasing-after-the-bus person my whole life. I think it’s from the combination of energy and time management that comes with prioritizing my morning.

Better yet, knowing that I’ve gotten at least a little bit of exercise relieves some stress in terms of finding time to work out later. I prefer to do some other physical activity later in the day in addition to these short runs – play tennis, do short interval training, or take a yoga class.  But if I don’t get to any of those, I know I already met my personal bottom line requirement for the day.

The biggest hurdle in morning exercise – getting out of bed – got a little easier after I invested in a few good accessories: Nike Air Pegasus + 26 shoes (rated a Best Value Buy  by Runner’s World), my new NUX cross back bra (made with some glorious moisture management material), and a teeny tiny ipod shuffle, loaded with upbeat music. All matching, of course 😉 Never underestimate the power of good workout clothes and accessories to motivate!

What gets you motivated to start a new routine? Have you made any small changes that are making a big difference in your well-being?

– Jean

