With every meal of this heat wave week, I’ve been on the hunt for something easy with little to no cooking required…For lunch, I also needed something that would survive Tupperware transit in good condition. I generally don’t like bringing regular salad greens to my office, because I find that their taste and texture goes downhill after being in a container for a few hours.

I found this recipe for a salad made with Japanese buckwheat soba noodles, edamame, carrots, and a citrus vinaigrette on the Women’s Health magazine website. It was delicious, nutritious, simple, and eaten cold/at room temperature – making it perfect for bringing to work, or maybe to the beach this weekend. Sadly, I couldn’t find the white miso that the recipe called for, so I left it out of the dressing, but it still tasted great. I ended up adding a sprinkling of white sesame seeds on top – they add a little crunch and flavor, and provide an extra boost of minerals like copper, manganese, and calcium.

The forecast for next week is looking steamy again — let me know if you have any suggestions for recipes that hold up in the heat!

