Yesterday, I had a serious case of the “Mondays.” One of those I-need-to-detox-from-the-weekend “Mondays.” After a great weekend that included: beers at a concert, Mexican food and margaritas at Jose’s, martinis at OM lounge, and beer, pretzels, and sausages at Fenway Park…I’m feeling the need to give my system a bit of a rest as I start the new week.  For the next couple of days, I figured I would try and cut back on white sugar, flour, excess caffeine, alcohol, etc.

 I’m also adding green smoothies back into my morning routine – something I haven’t done in a while. This morning, I made a healthy concoction by blending: 1 apple, 1 banana, 1 cup of water, juice from ½  a lemon, about a cup and a half of baby spinach, 1 stick of celery, and a sprig of mint.. The celery is a new addition for me, but Lauri from Joos raved about its health benefits so much, that I figured it deserved a spot in my detox smoothie recipe.  A quick online search of the benefits of eating celery revealed it as a great source of vitamins, as well as a source of potassium and magnesium, which help to aid as a diuretic. Drinking a green smoothie makes me feel great, knowing that I’m getting some fresh vegetables and fruits into my day, right away. I also plan on sweating it out tonight on the elliptical at Healthworks, drinking lots of water, and getting a good night’s sleep!

 What are your “recovery” tips to get back on track after over-indulging?

– Jean

