Another heat wave has descended upon Boston! It’s been quite a summer and I’ve struggled with finding healthy no-cooking-required meals to eat when the temperature is high. I realized that I’ve been overlooking the possibilities of the good old-fashioned sandwich, all this time. For yesterday’s dinner, I made up a sandwich inspired by the delicious picnic supplied by Whole Foods at the last Blogger picnic. I toasted two pieces of sprouted grain bread, and sliced up a ripe avocado and an heirloom tomato from the farmers’ market. As a side not – I do believe that this was actually the best tomato I’ve ever eaten! This is the season, get them now while they are amazing…Baby spinach greens and a smear of Whole Foods’ lemon garlic chive hummus also went into the sandwich. I dare say it was perfection. I love letting avocado take the center stage as the protein – it really lets the creamy texture and flavor stand out and they are very filling, with a hearty serving of healthy monounsaturated fats. Yum!

I’m keeping my fingers crossed for the heat to break and for Hurricane Earl to stay out at sea and not disrupt Labor Day weekend fun!

 – Jean

