There is an old Weight Watchers adage that when you fail to plan, you are planning to fail.  I haven’t been to WW in quite some time, but I do think that this is really good advice.  I’ve been trying to incorporate clean eating into my life and sometimes, when you are running around and just really, really hungry, it’s hard to stick to your nutritional standards and not just grab whatever high fructose corn syrup, partially hydrogenated whatever comes your way.  So I try to remember to plan things out and think ahead to keep myself from getting caught in a pinch.

On Sunday I made a batch of baked oatmeal from Tosca Reno’s The Eat Clean Diet Cookbook.  I can just put it in the microwave in the morning and I’m good to go.  I make coffee and lunches at home for the same reason, so that I can control what goes into them, and pack up everything the night before so that I have no excuses in the morning.

But even with all of my best intentions, I still walked out of the house without my carefully packed gym bag yesterday, and I didn’t have a plan B.  I had planned to go to Body Pump after I got out of school, but I figured that patent leather wedge shoes might not be the best idea for squats and lunges, so I wound up staying at school longer than I intended to and then just running home to change and take the dog out before going to book club.  I felt like I had failed a little bit.

But, I am not going to plan to fail again.  This is the kind of thing that I have taken as an excuse in the past, and I have thought, “Well, I already screwed up the week, so I might as well not worry about it until next week.”  That is so not happening any more.  So tonight I packed my bag, reserved a ticket online for tomorrow’s Body Pump, and brought the bag down to my car.  Now I’m planning to succeed.

-Johanna

