While October is still with us for another week, I wanted to remind everybody that it is still Breast Cancer Awareness month. Healthworks is teaming up with four great organizations in their Learn, Give, Hope campaign to support the fight against breast cancer. I just bought a Mel’s Bracelet from the Friends of Mel Foundation, which does amazing things for women living with cancer – including providing retreats so that women can get away from the day to day pressures of dealing with the disease.  I was particularly touched by this idea, as I watched my mother fight breast cancer for twelve long years, and I know first-hand the emotional toll that it can take in addition to the obvious physical effects.

Last month marked ten years since I lost my mother to breast cancer.  She was one of the best, kindest, funniest, most amazing people I have ever known, and she was a fighter to the finish.  I try to live my life each day in her spirit, helping people, sharing love, and creating joy.  (This is a photo of me with my mom.  I still have not quite learned how to smile for the camera.) If you have a few minutes, please go look at Healthworks’ Learn, Give, Hope page to learn more about the organizations they are working with and how you can support them.  Or drop a donation in one of the collection bins at your Healthworks!  So many lives have been touched by breast cancer; there is something we can all do to help.

