This week I did my best to add more veggies into my diet.  I’m usually one for a sensible happy medium outlook on eating, but lately my attitude of eating everything in moderation sort of slipped into just eating everything.  Oops.  So, focusing on Tosca Reno’s principles of Clean Eating (if you haven’t read The Eat Clean Diet, I really recommend it!) I planned out my meals and snacks for the week and went grocery shopping on Sunday.

I usually love grocery shopping, especially wandering around the aisles of Whole Foods browsing all of the options and tasting all of the samples.  But this week I was on a mission and I focused on vegetables and lean protein (and that free sample cranberry orange scone at the bakery.  Oops again.)  I tried to get a variety of veggies so that I wouldn’t get bored easily; if I bring salad to school for lunch all week, by Thursday I want to throw my Tupperware at the wall.

I wound up looking all over for new ways to eat my veggies.  On Carrots N Cake, Tina talked about this book that I’d really like to get (you know, in case you’re looking for a Christmas present idea for me) because I could use some inspiration.  I wound up using a couple of really good recipes from bloggers out there that I thought you guys would enjoy.

Low and Slow Sweet Potatoes from Kath Eats Real Food are hands-down the best way to eat sweet potatoes.  Cutting the potatoes into thick circles and roasting them in the oven turns them into something different and delicious.  Roasting veggies really does bring out the sweetness, and exposing this much skin from gives an opportunity for them to become kind of puffy – not crunchy exactly, but kind of like when you bake pierogies in the oven.  The outsides get a little poofy and the insides are smooth as though you had mashed the sweet potatoes up.

I also made kale chips for the first time.  I don’t even know who to give credit to for this, since it seems like it’s on every healthy eating blog out there.  Apparently I’m a little late to the baked kale rodeo.  By spreading pieces of kale leaves on a baking sheet, spraying them with a little olive oil and sprinkling with sea salt, I ended up with something that tasted kind of like Baked Lay’s, but with no weird ingredients.  Here‘s a recipe for you from over at allrecipes.com.  Don’t mind the photo – they are ugly, but they taste good!

Anybody who has creative veggie ideas, please send them my way!  I could use some more inspiration!

