I might be the last person in the Boston area to admit that it’s Fall.  Just last week, the temps were gorgeous and I was going for a run on the beach after school.  I was wearing flip flops.  But this weekend I couldn’t handle sitting on the porch to hand out candy to the trick-or-treaters, and yesterday I had to run my car for a little while before I could go anywhere to get the the frost off of the windshields.  I am also making the sad transition to wearing socks with my cute flats for work.  Sigh.

So now that the nice, outside-time weather is officially gone and our brief peak at Indian summer is over, I am reminded to keep active and healthy while keeping warm.  My first instinct when I get cold (um, after whining about it) is to get inside and stay inside.  This can lead to far too much hibernation mode and a serious drop off in my fitness goals; I want to put on my Slanket, read a book, and eat cream-based soups and macaroni and cheese.  Cold weather and comfort food just go together in my head and I have to consciously remind myself to get off of the freaking couch.

Yesterday could have been the beginning of a downward spiral for me.  I came home from school after freezing all day (our public schools at work – heat is either on or off.  No temp control.) and all I wanted to do was make hot cocoa and watch TV.  But after an hour and starting to doze off in the middle of the day, a thought occurred to me.  Maybe I shouldn’t snuggle under the duvet to watch the Tivoed finale of Project Runway at 4:30 in the afternoon.  Maybe I shouldn’t waste the opportunity of an afternoon free to make a good choice.

I’m glad I dragged myself up and changed into gym clothes and made it to Healthworks.  A little ellipticaling, a quick, sweaty treadmill run and a Body Pump class with Toni, and I felt back to normal.  My sluggish, whiny self took a backseat.  Now this is mildy dramatic, I’ll grant you.  Yesterday was 40 degrees.  I have a long, cold winter coming up that I have to put my big girl workout capris on and deal with.  But I feel like I avoided the first step in what could have been a winter of not caring.  Now I have to work on finding comfort food recipes that won’t break my calorie bank.

