So, after all of my excitement last week about running outside with my new hat and not letting the winter get the best of me… I hurt my foot.  I don’t know how exactly, but I am pretty sure that it had something to do with the cold weather forcing me to wear socks with my cute pointy flats, the shoes slipping off my feet all day, and curling my toes weird in response to keep said cute pointy shoes on my feet.  And I had a 13 hour day.

By 6 pm, I was getting a weird pain in my toe.  By the time I got to leave school to go home at 8, I was just plain hurting.  And then – here is the brilliant part – on Thursday, I went for my planned run with my friend anyway.  We had the day off, we had a plan, I was in a good mental place about running and keeping up my schedule, and I decided to just do it.  Remember how I like to pretend I am a badass?  Not. So. Smart.

Thursday during the run I was ok.  During the walk back I was in a little pain, but no biggie.  That afternoon, shopping with my husband for new work clothes (because, by the way, he just keeps losing weight and losing weight – but that’s another frustrating story) I was ready to cry in the mall.  I couldn’t fight the tears by the time we got in the car.  I have a pretty high tolerance for pain, but my stupid toe pushed me over the edge.

So, after some WebMD research, some ice and some Advil, I have decided that I have to rest for a little while.  I went to the doctor on Monday and she confirmed what I suspected.  I strained a tendon somehow.  I think it was the stupid shoes.  And really, I managed to train for and run a half marathon with no injury at all, but wearing every day shoes to work led me to this?  Ugh.  She told me no running for awhile and no more walking than necessary.  Not much of anything for awhile.  Just rest, ice and Advil.

The ironic thing is that sometimes I would think to myself, I would love a reason to just take a break from all of this exercise for awhile.  Wouldn’t that be nice, if somebody would tell me I couldn’t work out and I could just stop, just for a few days?  Well, now that I was told that, it’s driving me crazy.  I want to exercise.  But pretty much every step that I take is at least a little painful, so I am waiting like I was told and trying to just get better.  At least I don’t have to use crutches.  I guess the moral of the story is, be careful what you wish for?  Or wear more comfortable shoes.

