This morning started out promising when I stepped out of the house and saw the sun for the first time all week.  However, it quickly went downhill.  It bottomed out during a two hour lunch meeting when I ended up eating the lunch that was provided (giant chicken parmesan sandwich, chips, cookie – and a mint).  I then spent the rest of the afternoon feeling guilty and bloated (and I think we can all agree that those are two of the more unpleasant feelings).  To add insult to injury, eating like that did simply not provide me with the fuel to face bootcamp (the bloat and the guilt didn’t help either).  I couldn’t jump rope to save my life, my pushups were horrible and one point I found myself just standing and staring into space instead of doing jumping jacks (luckily Lauren didn’t see me!). So instead of leaving the gym feeling invigorated, I left feeling defeated.  Making poor eating choices is like the prank gift that keeps on giving.  And you know what a (very evil) part of me thinks the solution to this is? Ordering pizza (you know theory, right?  The day is shot to hell anyway, so I might as well enjoy some cheese and

pepperoni).  This is one of those times when I need to sit myself down and have a serious talk with myself.  It would go something like this:

Me:  Why on earth do you think that pizza is going to make anything better?

Other Me:  Um, because it tastes good? And it tastes even better with beer?

Me:  Look, we ate crap for lunch and then felt like crap all afternoon.  And then felt even worse after our  pathetic  performance in bootcamp.   Can you not see the cause and effect going on here?

Other Me:  Whatever.  It was a TWO HOUR meeting with a 67 page PowerPoint presentation and the sandwich smelled awesome.  What was I supposed to do?

Me:  Not interested in your excuses.  You were supposed to NOT eat it and instead eat the nutritious lunch we brought with us and then be ready for bootcamp.

Other Me:  Um, can we finish this later?  I think the pizza place stops delivering at nine.

Me:  Sigh.  You are not getting it.  Eating pizza is just going to continue the crap feelings.  It is a very dangerous road to travel.  This is stupid – every pre-schooler in world knows that two wrongs don’t make a right and that is exactly what you are suggesting we do, thunder thighs.

Other Me:  Ok, ok.  I get it.  But by the way, every pre-schooler also knows that you aren’t supposed to call people names.  The thunder thighs thing was out of line.

Me:  Point taken.  I feel we’ve really grown tonight.  Now let’s go have a good dinner.

So I successfully avoided compounding the error of my ways with pizza and beer.  And I’m trying not to be too hard on myself for the transgression (no more name calling!).    Struggling through sprints in bootcamp was punishment enough – I just hope I remember that the next time I’m face with food I shouldn’t eat! Whenever I am on the fence about working out, I always tell myself that I have never once regretted *going* to the gym, while I have many times regretted skipping it.  Similarly, I have to start reminding myself that while I have many times regretted what I’ve put in my mouth, I don’t think there has ever been a time when I got to the end of the day and said “Damn, I should have eaten that sandwich.”

