Thanksgiving is just around the bend, and while this time of year marks the start of the holiday season, it also means that its time to be prepared for something much less fun: cold and flu season!

I was sick all of last week, and know a few other people in my office and grad school program have been coming down with colds  also. I’m thankful to be feeling better and able to be up and active by now—as we all probably know, it isn’t until you’ve felt unhealthy that you tend to fully appreciate just how great being healthy really is.

Hawaiian Ginger Chicken Soup and Sriracha

I made a batch of this Hawaiian Ginger Chicken Soup from EatingWell.com when I was feeling sick, and I’ve decided to go ahead and dub it the “new” chicken soup. While I love the Lipton’s noodle packets as much as the next person, a spicy, pungent soup filled with dark green leafy vegetables, is much more beneficial to your body. It is VERY ginger-y, which I love, but those who aren’t really into ginger may want to reduce it a little. Ginger is acknowledged as having tons of health benefits, including: boosting immunity, relieving gastrointestinal discomfort, and reducing inflammation. The spicy Sriracha in the broth is excellent for clearing up a stuffy nose! I hope you don’t end up needing a cold-remedy, but should you need one, keep this dish in mind. 🙂

Have a great holiday!

